Educator of Note Award

EoN apple

Since 1994, the Young Patronesses of the Opera has been proud to award excellent music school teachers in Miami-Dade County! The Educator of Note Award recognizes outstanding Miami-Dade County elementary and middle school teachers in the public, private, or parochial schools who creatively motivate and inspire young children in the field of music education. 


In 1993, Karyn Herterich, YPO president from 1989 to 1990, initiated the Educator of Note Award in memory of her mother, Ethel Malcomb Kennedy, as well as to honor  YPO Past President Louise Todaro for her many years of dedication to the cause of opera education.

WINNER RECEIVES:Each year a winner is awarded a $2000 grant and a Waterford apple at YPO’s annual May luncheon.

TEACHERS!!! All Honorees
All eligible teachers* (see details below for eligibility) who are interested in applying should fill out the application form and submit it before the deadline date of March 25, 2018. Click here to download the “Educator of Note” Application form!  (NOTE: The application is a writable PDF file. Once you click on the link, save it on your computer and then fill it out.)

IMPORTANT: Be sure to include any additional letters of recommendations, photos, DVD’s, or other information with your application that you feel would be helpful in our review. The winner will be notified in April.

* ELIGIBILITY:To be eligible, an applicant must:

  • Be actively teaching in Miami-Dade County at the elementary level (in alternate years commencing in 2011, eligibility will also be extended to middle school teachers). Starting in 2011, middle school teachers will be considered every other year.
  • Must have at least 3 years’ teaching experience
  • Must be nominated by one person (who may be a principal or fellow teacher).

The applicant should include information about relevant classroom or extracurricular activities, which could include: instructional opera projects, field trips, Opera Funtime programs, creating and producing student operas, or anything else related to increasing students’ knowledge or appreciation of music.

PAST WINNERS:  Click her to see a list of the past winners.

YPO Educator of Note Committee members: Sheri Swanson, Julie Todaro, Janis Ramirez, and  Linda Meyers. IN MEMORY OF OUR Louise Todaro, Chairman Emeritus, 1924-2014.